You might say that I’m a dreamer. But I’m not the only one.

I have dreams.
Dreams that include my one-day children riding rickety bikes around a tiny village in some crazy third world country with friends that speak different languages but laugh just the same.
Dreams that include the adrenaline rush of needy people coming to my door in the middle of the night for medical attention that I’m not qualified to give but give anyway because God provides.
I have dreams of conversations of Jesus and justice.
And joy from these being my daily reality lately.
I have dreams of falling into bed completely exhausted knowing the only way I’ll get up in the morning is through real energy only given by God.
Dreams of a center for the destitute in the middle of a metropolis somewhere. A place for a meal, a bed, a hug, job training or a conversation. A use for this love of dealing with hard issues verbally that the Father has given me.
I have dreams that I don’t expect many to understand.
That I know are only from God because two or three years ago I wanted nothing more than to get married to the man of my dreams, have beautiful children, make lots of money, and attend a thousand meetings about everything from landscaping to baseball games.
But Jesus has gotten hold of my heart, and while none of those things are innately bad, for me it feels suffocating some days to be doing nothing more than talking about the dreams instead of doing something against the injustice Satan has so often clouded our eyes to.
But as far as my dreams stretch out, He has plans.
And if, for now, His plans are here, then so be it.
And I’ll be the best I can be right here and now.
And I’ll realize that injustice is all around us. And we don’t have to be anywhere but where we are right here and now to be living for Jesus.
I’ll run through any doors that He has cracked ever so slightly.
Knock at any opportunity that could be. Pray for direction and joy.
Run for positions where justice will be sought.
Follow the little whispers of my heart.
And love the ones He has placed in front of me and cherish the time with each and every one of you.

Leave a Reply

