Two Men.

Source

There were two men in church this week that didn’t fit in.

Two men that made me wonder why they were there.

Two men that made me wonder where my heart was.

One wore a trench coat and had eyes that had seen much.

The other wore sweatpants and a too tight t-shirt and walked too loudly down the aisle in the middle of the sermon.

There are churches and ministries for people like them, my sinful self quickly thought. Don’t they realize that you dress nice for church on Sunday? Don’t they realize you don’t get up in the middle of the sermon? Did their mothers not teach them anything? were the thoughts I’m embarrassed to say flowed through my mind as I allowed myself to be distracted.

I’ve been thinking about this for a few days. What kind of Christian am I that I don’t want people who “don’t fit in” in “my church”?

Last year, there was a girl wearing Nike shorts at Wednesday night church and one of my guy friends casually mentioned that he couldn’t believe she was dressed like this for church. It was me who was so quick to jump to this girl’s defense. So quick to justify her reasons and point out his sin.

And it was me that found herself on the other side of judgementalism and sin this week.

I can justify a girl, probably much like me, wearing athletic shorts in church but question when someone outside the realm of people I think should be in “MY” church on a Sunday morning are there. .

But Jesus didn’t just die for the people who I think should be in church on Sunday morning.

He didn’t just die for the ones who have “done enough” to get to heaven.

He died for the homeless, the broken, the needy. For Them. For You. For Me.
Because we all fit into that category. Because yeah, I have clothes that fit and a roof over my head each night, but my brokenness stems from a less physical area of my life. And it might be hiding, but it’s there.

And He makes my need for Him known everytime I get too comfortable.

Everytime I think I have it all figured out. He shows up and asks “What about the least of these?” and “Who are you to judge?”.

**I wrote this about a year ago, and it’s back on my heart again. Funny how God has a way of doing that to us.

Leave a Reply

