7 Billion. That’s 7,000,000,000.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the way I live my life.
The way we all live our lives. But particularly me, because you know, it’s me.
We are on this earth for such a short period of time, relatively.
And yet it’s the longest thing we’ll ever experience, this side of heaven.
I think I stuggle with this idea because I’ve always wanted to be known.
When I was little and active in theater, I was sure I’d be a movie star.
In middle and high school, I just knew it was “God’s plan” for me to be a doctor.
And I knew I would use that to do something important: cure cancer, AIDS, etc.
And now, I feel like I’m starting all over again in that dream, but it’s tougher this time.
Because in my heart, I know that I’m not the one to get the glory.
I’m working for the Lord, and it is for His glory that I should work.
But that’s the thing.
I think each one of us has a little part of us, even if it’s hidden or shoved down deep inside, that wants to be something special.
The world population (estimates) reached 7 billion people last week. 7,000,000,000 people. Just like you and me.
How in the world do you become special to 7,000,000,000 people?
You love them. Like Jesus did. You care more about them than the 1 person that you are.
Look how silly 1 looks next to 7,000,000,000. Do you think you’re anything next to that?
Well you are. There’s a guy, Jesus, who laid down His own life so that you could have life.
And He wants to give you life to the full. Here and in eternity.
And I’ve found that the best way to find life to the full is to pour out your life to others.
Whether it be in going halfway around the world to a kid in the slum (which, by the way, I’m not that holy. The kids here have running water and electricity in their cottages on our gated compound.) or next door to the elderly man that needs yard work.
No matter if it’s the “weird kid” in your class or your mom or dad (I don’t mean to imply that your mom and dad are weird… even though mine are. ;])
People need people. And our world tells us that we need things. That we need the latest and the greatest. And that people don’t matter so much.
But they’ve got it backwards.
Don’t take my word on it though. Try it for yourself. Spend one day playing with sweet kiddos across the street. Take an hour to call up that friend going through a hard time. Sit down and write an email to that person that’s been on your mind.
You’ll never know how big God is until you step out and do something that you can’t do without His help.
Because at the end of the day, even if everyone in America knows your name, you’ll still die. The only things that will last forever are the things you do to spread the name of Jesus. And His name can be spread even in the small things.

One thought on “7 Billion. That’s 7,000,000,000.

  1. Hi Hallie! We are new to First Pres and met you just before you left. I was thinking today as we wrapped gifts…when you set out on your journey, I am sure you wanted to “make a difference” over there. Did you realize that you have made a difference over here? That’s pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

